Default Text Size Larger Text Size Largest Text Size Print This Page Email This Page Article Menu Bar
Benton County Board

Back Row (L to R): Warren J. PeschlEdward D. PoppSpencer C. Buerkle
Front Row (L to R): Allen "Jake" BauerlyJim McMahon,

Spencer C. Buerkle Edward D. Popp Warren J Peschl Allen #8221;Jake” Bauerly James J. McMahon

Benton County Board

Board members are elected to serve four year, staggered terms and represent separate geographic districts. County Commissioners oversee county activities and work to ensure that citizen concerns are met, federal and state requirements are fulfilled, and county operations run smoothly.

County commissioners work to provide services to people and communities while overseeing the cost of such services. They attend regular meetings of the county board as well as meetings of county board subcommittees and county-related boards and commissions. County commissioners also work with constituents and respond to constituent concerns. They are responsible for establishing a budget and levying taxes to finance County services, authorizing expenditures, making land-use decisions, and managing County roads, buildings and property. Board members also bring the County's concerns before state and federal lawmakers and interact with other local boards, such as city councils and township boards.

The five-member County Board serves as the chief legislative and policymaking body of the county. The powers of the Board are outlined in Minnesota Statutes.

The Benton County Board meets the first and third Tuesday of each month at 9:00 AM in the Board Room of the Benton County Administration Building.

County Board Members

District 1: Warren Peschl

District 2: Ed Popp

District 3: Jim McMahon

District 4: Spencer Buerkle

District 5: Allen "Jake" Bauerly

2018 County Board Chair,Ed Popp
2018 County Board Vice-Chair,Jim McMahon
2018 Human Services Board Chair,Jim McMahon
2018 Human Services Board Vice-Chair,Jake Bauerly