Connect with us on Facebook

Benton County's Location in Minnesota

Established in 1849, Benton is one of the original nine Minnesota counties.

Area: 408 Square Miles
Congressional District: 6
US Census Population (2010): 38,451
County Seat: Foley
Largest City: Sauk Rapids

Benton County is part of the St. Cloud Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Default Text Size Larger Text Size Largest Text Size Print This Page Email This Page Article Menu Bar

Benton County Board of Commissioners has one opening on the Solid Waste Advisory Committee.




            Benton County Board of Commissioners has one opening on the Solid Waste Advisory Committee.  The Solid Waste Advisory Committee is a seven member committee consisting of one citizen-at-large per commissioner district and two county commissioners.  The committee reviews and makes a recommendation to the Benton County Board regarding SCORE Grant applications.  Further, the group provides recommendations on various solid waste related issues such as proposed regulation. Typically, the Solid Waste Advisory Committee meets quarterly and the members shall be paid a per diem, currently $60 and their mileage in an amount to be determined by separate action of the County Board.

The Board will be appointing a new member from District 5, Commissioner Jake Bauerly’s District. If you are interested in the areas of solid waste, recycling and would like to serve on the Solid Waste Advisory Committee, please send a letter of consideration, describing your interest and background to Benton County Department of Development Attn. Mark McNamara or Roxanne Achman, Government Center, 531 Dewey St. PO Box 129 Foley, MN 56329.

This news item has a downloadable document.