The Benton County Recorder’s office is responsible for recording, indexing, maintaining and displaying records of legal documents for all real estate records in Benton County.
The office accepts for recording and issues copies of military discharges, state and federal tax liens as well as birth, death and marriage records.
PLEASE NOTE: Minnesota state statute 481.02 prohibits this office from giving legal advice and/or preparing legal documents. This also includes advising customers on which legal document form to use.
For legal services related to ownership or transfer of real estate property interests, contact a Real Estate Attorney who is licensed by, and a member of, the Minnesota State Bar. You may also contact Abstract or Title companies depending on the situation.
Credit Card Payments
Please note: Benton County accepts credit cards for payment (except recording documents). There is a convenience fee of $2.00 or 2.40% of the transaction, whichever is greater.
Benton County no longer processes passports, for passport inquires please visit the U.S. Department of State - Bureau of Consular Affairs website.
Birth and Death
The Benton County Recorder’s Office has birth and death records beginning around 1860. Birth certificates from 1900 and death certificates from 1997 and after can be obtained at any county in Minnesota if the event happened in Minnesota. Death certificates prior to 1997 can be obtained from the county of residence.
The office registers your notary signature (in person) if you live in Benton County. You need to bring the commission card from the Secretary of State. There is a $20 fee.
Please do not sign the commission card until you are at our counter.
We request that you come in no later than 4 p.m. when applying for a marriage license. There is a lot of paperwork to complete and we want to make sure that all the info is correct. We do not want to make you feel hurried.
You can apply for a marriage license anywhere in Minnesota as long as the ceremony will take place in Minnesota. You do not have to apply at the county where the ceremony will take place. A Minnesota marriage license is only valid within the borders of Minnesota.
Benton County does not offer online marriage license applications.
Marriage certificates are only available in the county where your license was applied for. There is a $9.00 fee.
If you are unsure where you applied, you can search using the link on the upper left for the Minnesota Official Marriage System.
You must be 21 years of age and file a certificate of filing in a Minnesota County office before performing a wedding ceremony in Minnesota. If applicable, per M.S. 517.05, you will also need to submit your credentials and a letter of good standing. You will need a valid photo ID. The fee is $20.00.