Investigative Division

The investigative division is comprised of 1 lieutenant, 2 detectives, and 2 investigators who serve on the Violent Offender Task Force (VOTF). 


Members of this division conduct in-depth investigations into the most serious crimes committed in the county. The lieutenant and detectives focus on person crimes and serious property crime committed in the county. Investigators assigned to the VOTF focus their efforts on identifying and arresting criminals involved in those crimes that are most detrimental to the peace and safety of our communities. These crimes include selling drugs, illegal firearms possession, gang-related activities, and the like. 

Investigative Team

These VOTF investigators work as a team with investigators from:

  • Morrison County
  • Sherburne County
  • Stearns County
  • Todd County
  • Little Falls
  • Sartell
  • Sauk Rapids
  • St. Cloud
  • St. Joseph
  • Waite Park


The investigative division is responsible for maintaining the evidence room, providing expertise and assistance to deputies at crime scenes, and working with investigative staff from surrounding agencies to cooperatively solve crimes occurring across jurisdictional boundaries.